Actions
Share

On my dedicated server, why do my folders have Read-Only assigned to them?

You may notice on your dedicated server that all folders have a gray checkbox in the Read-Only attribute that can't be successfully unchecked. The short answer for this is that it is a throwback to DOS days when folders had attributes in the same way that files do. These days, the NTFS permissions override any kind of attribute permissions on folders, although for some reason the read-only attribute still shows up.

So, the only place that read-only will matter is on actual files, not on directories. For a more in-depth explanation, see this link:

http://support.microsoft.com/Default.aspx?id=326549

Article ID: 361, Created On: 10/28/2004, Modified: 10/28/2004

Feedback (0)